Christmas Bottle

For this I used a Rochester ginger bottle, which is a very good shade of green for a Christmas decoration. Getting the label off was difficult and cleaning the glue off required white spirit, but I didn’t want to cover all the bottle, so it needed to be done.

I did want to cover a strip around the bottle with garden twine, so I wrapped 3 strips of double sided tape around the bottle, to cover a piece 2ins or 5.5cm wide. The bottom strip is 3 1/2 ins or 9cm from the bottom of the bottle.

I peeled the backing tape off and wrapped the twine around, catching the end of the twine under the first few rows of wrapping. I turned the bottle round and round and wrapped the twine tightly, keeping each row as close to the next as I could, covering all the glue. When I got to the end I threaded the string through a wool needle and pulled it under a few strands of twine before cutting it.

I had a Christmas tree decoration made up of a few strands of shiny gold beads tied together and attached to a plastic loop.

I fastened this to the twine panel, so that the end of the beads was just above the bottom of the bottle. I used a wool needle to stitch under the twine and through the loop 3 times and then tied the ends together.

Then I attached a red and gold flower made with tinsel yarn and 2 strands of double knit.

It has a red button in the middle which has a large shank at the back. I threaded enough twine to go twice round the bottle and tie in a knot through a wool needle. I tied off and trimmed short the wool strands at the back of the flower and threaded the twine through the middle of the flower, through the shank at the back of the button and back though the middle of the flower. I slid the flower to the middle of the twine and wrapped it around the bottle and tied it together at the front, behind the flower, and cut off the excess.

I have some 3D stickers in gold, which included two sprays of small leaves. I added one to each side of the yarn flower, above the twine panel.

I used 3 gold glitter leaves and 2 gold baubles to decorate the neck of the bottle. I tied the baubles around just above the bottom ridge on the neck, using the gold cord they were hung on. Then I pushed the stems of the leaves through the cord as well, 2 from underneath and one from the top.

Sorry about the reflection in the baubles, perhaps I should have used less shiny baubles.

I added lights to the inside of the bottle, using tiny LED lights on a wire attached to a cork shaped plastic stopper that contains the battery and the on/off switch.

I am entering this in the following challenges.

Country View ‘Anything But a Card’ https://countryviewchallenges.blogspot.com/2020/11/november-2020-anything-but-card.html

A Perfect Time to Craft Open Challenge https://aperfecttimetocraft.blogspot.com/2020/11/a-perfect-time-to-craft-challenge-for.html

Moving Along With The Times ‘Christmas Flowers’ http://movingalongwiththetimes.blogspot.com/2020/11/challenge-124-for-november-xmas-flowers.html

Try It On Tuesday ‘Traditional Christmas Colours’ https://tuesdaytaggers.blogspot.com/2020/11/next-challenge.html

Not Just Cards ‘Anything Goes’ http://notjustcardschallenges.blogspot.com/2020/11/november-challenge.html

Allsorts challenge ‘Anything Goes with a Candle, Light and All Things Bright Option’ http://allsortschallenge.blogspot.com/2020/11/week-598-candles-and-lights.html

The Funkie Junkie Boutique challenge ‘Celebrate’ (Use Bright Colours) http://frillyandfunkie.blogspot.com/2020/11/celebrate.html

7 thoughts on “Christmas Bottle

  1. Hi Susan,
    this is such a lovely project and you have created a super ornament.
    Love all the elements used on this especially your flower.
    thank you for joining the MAWTT Challenge. again.
    Lots of crafty love. jenny L. DT

    Like

  2. What a fabulous use of red and green. This is such a pretty festive bottle. Thanks for sharing with us at Try It on Tuesday. Hugs-Erika

    Like

  3. Lovely altered bottle that will make a great decor item to help you celebrate Christmas. Thanks for joining us at The Funkie Junkie Boutique Blog.
    Hugs!
    Cec

    Like

Leave a comment